Thulebasen is a 3-piece band from Copenhagen playing experimental rock. Having played in bands like Düreforsög and KloAK the band-members are known to explore the borders of alternative rock. In Thulebasen Felia, Nis & Niels have created a space where they can excel in what they do best.

The first Thulebasen record, Guitar Wand, featured the compositions of singer and guitarist Nis Bysted and was released by the music collective Escho in 2008. Joined by Felia Gram-Hanssen and Niels Kristian Eriksen that same year, Thulebasen took form as a trio when Nis Bysted invited Niels Kristian Eriksen and Felia Gram-Hanssen to join him onstage for a few concerts. When they started out as a band they only played together in the form of free improvisation. They recorded most of this spontaneous material so they could keep track of their favorite pieces along the way, refine the work live and continue to improvise—concert after concert, rehearsal after rehearsal— what started as an unstructured experiment slowly and steadily became actual compositions.

The songs can be heard on the album Gate 5, which was collectively released by Escho and us in 2011. Thulebasen has toured extensively over the years and has shared the stage with likeminded acts such as Excepter, Lucky Dragons, tUnE-yArDs, Ariel Pink and Eric Copeland. As a live-act the compact and hard-hitting avant-garde rock of Gate 5 can manifest itself in many forms – always with the close and zen-like musical communication between the band members.

In 2012 Thulebasen recorded the track "Forever Grinning" and asked 5 musicians that they liked the most to do remixes. Eric Copeland, Gala Drop, Lucky Dragons, Hhappiness and Lamborg Tony Lamburg all said yes and the result can be heard on the EP ​Forever Grinning.

Related News


Thulebasen Recommends