Efterklang/Fundal share video version of new album | News | TAMBOURHINOCEROS
Efterklang - Leaves (2015) by Tine Reingaard

Efterklang/Fundal share video version of new album

Dec 08, 2016

On November 4th Efterklang & co-composer Karsten Fundal released the opera Leaves - The Colour of Falling (performed by Efterklang & The Happy Hopeless Orchestra) digitally, CD and vinyl.

Now the opera can be seen as a whole in ten videos created by the talented film artists Søren Rye and Jonas Bang in collaboration with illustrator Fie Lindholm. The videos features the lyrics for the opera written by the critically-acclaimed Danish writer Ursula Andkjær Olsen.

Watch the 10 videos here.

The videos have been shot in the same nuclear basement below the former Copenhagen Municipal Hospital where the Opera was performed during 16 sold out nights in 2015 . The opera was commissioned by Copenhagen Opera Festival who produced it in collaboration with the local theatre Sort/Hvid. The scenography was made by Marie Rosendahl Chemnitz and it was staged by Christian Lollike. The result was 16 horrifying, fascinating and mysterious evenings received by an enthusiastic audience and with great reviews to follow. The set-up in the basement can never be remade, but the opera was granted new life with the release in early November and today with release of the complete video version of the album.

In the beginning of 2017 Efterklang and The Happy Hopeless Orchestra will perform the opera in a concert version the following places around Europe:

  • Feb 22 - Copenhagen, Store Vega, Danmark
  • Feb 23 - Uppsala, Uppsala Konsert & Kongress, Sverige
  • Mar 02 – Eindhoven, Muziekgebouw Eindhoven / Cross Linx – Holland
  • Mar 03 - Groningen, De Oosterpoort / Cross Linx – Holland
  • Mar 04 - Rotterdam, De Doelen / Cross Linx – Holland
  • Mar 05 - Amsterdam, Muziekgebouw / Cross Linx – Holland
  • Mar 09 – London, Barbican – England
  • Mar 10 – Bruxelles, Ancienne Belgique – Belgien