Thulebasen - Forever Grinning | TAMBOURHINOCEROS | A record label and music publisher

Forever Grinning

out on
16,99 €
76.46% off!
4,00 €
Download voucher included

Forever Grinning is an exclusive EP by Thulebasen featuring remixes by Eric Copeland (Black Dice), Lucky Dragons, Hhappiness, Gala Drop and Lamburg Tony.

In October 2011, Thulebasen was contacted by the Statens Museum for Kunst, Denmark's National Art Museum, to create a song for one of the paintings from their collection of 19th-century Danish paintings. Independently of each other, the three members of the band became stuck on a Jørgen Sonne painting from 1847: ”Midsummer’s Eve. Sick People Asleep upon the Grave of St Helena at Tisvilde”. The painting depicts a group of visibly infirm people sitting, and waiting. A myth states that the Saint could heal them if they stayed on the grave overnight. With a strange luminosity that is both light and dark, this painting is famous for being the first to capture the unique light conditions of a summer night in Denmark.

"Forever Grinning" is the song they wrote for this painting. It was co-released together with the label Splendour.