Oh No Ono

Oh No Ono was an experimental pop quintet from the tiny Danish town of Aalborg. Their music, intricate and otherworldly, defies conventions and expectations (and sometimes gravity).

Oh No Ono consisted of Malthe Fischer, Nicolai Koch, Nis Svoldgård, Kristian Olsen and the two Tambourhinoceros co-founder’s Aske Zidore and Kristoffer Rom. They released two full-length albums Yes (2006) and Eggs (2009), but started off with the energetic and refreshing EP Now You Know Oh No Ono (2005).

The first album, Yes, rode a wave of Scandinavian press and Oh No Ono also received the award “Breakthrough of the Year” from DR (Danish Radio). They toured extensively with Yes but the members of Oh No Ono were always on the hunt for something bigger. The creation began of their next project: Eggs.

To record the album, the band locked themselves away in a small country house on the Danish isle of Møn for nine months. And yet, Eggs is anything but claustrophobic; reaching beyond traditional guitar/bass/drum textures, the band weaves myriad environmental sounds, samples, and nonstandard instrumentation into the mix. The sound of bird flocks taking flight are followed by woodwind players. Percussion is played on a water-filled tub. Elephants are heard, being elephants. A massive choir of Oh No Ono's friends sing along with the organ of a 300-year-old church. This is not to say the band spent all nine months cuddling trees and Pinking their Floyds.

Eggs' vivacious - even lusty - approach to songcraft is the trademark of a band determined to approach pop music via the hard road, without ever losing track of the fact that they are creating pop music.

In the end of 2011, Oh No Ono called it quits, and the members are now doing their own stuff.


Oh No Ono's Events